top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWandering Flâneuse

Travelling During a Global Pandemic: Pros and Cons

Today marks the date of 6 whole months since I left Ireland and landed on Vietnamese soil- and what a whirlwind it has been. To celebrate this incredible journey so far, I have decided to share my top 3 pros and cons of travelling during a global pandemic. A pandemic is something nobody could have factored into their travelling risk assessment 6 months ago, no matter how organised you are! Corona has felt like a needy stage 5 clinger at this stage. Unfortunately, I have never felt far from the embrace of her wicked ways while travelling-and that I have begun to come to terms with.


Like anything in life, how the pandemic affected travelling has come with its pros and cons. I want to share some of the silver linings that have come from what has been quite the storm.


Pros:


1. Solitary site-seeing:


This is the biggest luxury that has come from this situation. Everywhere we have gone, has been virtually empty. Hoi An’s ancient old town, which usually sees traffic of around 5 million travellers a year, was eerily quiet. The Japanese covered bridge, which dates back to the 18th century, is usually so congested that you CANNOT get across without being possibly whacked in the face with a selfie stick. I, however, skipped and twirled across the bridge-completely on my own! Have you heard of Mỹ Sơn temples? Mỹ Sơn is a cluster of abandoned and partially ruined Hindu temples in central Vietnam, constructed between the 4th and the 14th century by the kingdom of the Cham people. I got to play temple run with a fellow 4 other people who accompanied me. We were the only tourists on the whole site! Travelling at this time means that photo opportunities are in their absolute prime. You can wave bye-bye to noise pollution and large levels of congestion. It makes for an experience that feels incredibly intimate as if it is just you and the destination- allowing for a peaceful and enriching experience.


2. Giảm giá! Travel at a discount:


Want a high-quality massage somewhere? You are looking at paying up to half the price at the most beautiful establishments, the quality remaining top-notch. Apartment hunting has been a dream. You can practically take your pick of location, while requesting the specific amenities that you desire to be included, at an extremely low price. Currently, I am living in a hotel/ apartment complex, which is a new build and comes with room cleaning weekly, a pool, a gym, and a restaurant and bar. It has cost me roughly around $300 to live here, with its usual price set at $450. The discounted price everywhere allows for an incredibly comfortable way of living, especially when your income may have dwindled during the pandemic.


3. Making connections through slow travel:


This is something that I have come to appreciate over time. What can one say about their knowledge of a culture, if their time spent there is incredibly minimal? I have lived in Da Nang for 5 months now, and I am only really starting to feel like I have gathered my bearings. Consider your travelling intention- If it is to experience a different culture, then you might want to start extending your time in places. Also, by slowing down your pace, you have the chance to discover valuable places that are off the beaten track. I have had the opportunity to visit some incredible places here that I would have never found or heard about if it wasn't for my extended time here.


Cons:


1. Lack of mobility:


Got itchy feet? Tough luck if you happen to be in Vietnam, or a lot of places in the world. Vietnam's borders have been shut since March, and it is an incredibly difficult ordeal to enter or leave. You have to start to get comfortable with living in the present, because plans will become extended regularly, and you might have to compromise big style. Always be prepared to adjust your plans and stay flexible.


2. The ever-looming lockdown's:


As much as I love Da Nang, it's tough being anywhere in the world when you can't leave your apartment. Lockdown restrictions in Vietnam are pretty hardcore, with police patrolling certain areas, the beach is sectioned off and closed, restaurants banned from providing takeaway services, mass testing occurring, and masks being essential. This is my second lockdown in Da nang alone, and I doubt it will be my last over the next few months while travelling. It can be frustrating knowing there are many places around you that you crave to explore, but can only hope to get to one day. Patience has been something I have learned to live with.


3. An absence of ambiance:


I never thought I would say it, but I miss tourists! I miss the thrill of meeting new people on the road, coming from all corners of the world, and living in a constant state of flux. I miss going to tourist destinations and seeing them filled with people and a general buzz of livelihood and excitement filling the air. There is a beauty in knowing that everyone around you is there to celebrate the destination that you have come to experience, a collective togetherness.


What these past six months have taught me is to embrace every single moment. Live consistently in the present, because who knows what your future holds. A lockdown? The shutting of borders? A temporary halt in international flights? Who knows. What I do know is that I won't take those precious moments of freedom for granted ever again. Go for that sunrise swim, say yes to that excursion, take a risk, be daring, and always, be in the moment.





Resources:

Tuoi Tre News: Hoi An Tourism


Vietnam Guide: My Son Hindu Sanctuary


Vietnam Discovery: Hoi An Bridge


39 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page